What Is Ashtang Yoga?

Around 2000 years ago, the great Sage Patanjali has classified the scientific system of Yoga into the classical texts in the form of “Yoga Sutra.”

The literal meaning of Sutra means “Thread”, The Yoga Sutra of Patanjali consist of principles of classical yoga in the form of 196 statements threaded together.

The sage Patanjali has classified yoga into the eight essential principles which are popularly known as limbs.

“Asht” means eight

“Anga” means limbs or principles

So the literal meaning of “Ashtang Yoga” is “Eight limbs” or “Eight Principles”

Also Read: Do You Need Body Flexibility To Practice Yoga?

Eight Limbs of Yoga:

  1. Yam: Universal morality or moral restrains
  2. Niyam: Personal observance and rules to follow
  3. Asan: Practice of Yoga Postures
  4. Pranayam: Control of Pran or Breathing exercises
  5. Pratyahar: Withdrawal of mind from the senses
  6. Dharana: Practice of focus or concentration and cultivating inner awareness
  7. Dhyan: Meditation or Devotion to Divine
  8. Samadhi: State of super consciousness

Asans, Pranayam, and Pratyahar are collectively known as “Hatha Yoga”

Dharana, Dhyan and Samadhi collectively knowns as “Raja Yoga”

In the next blog from Yoga Series, we will look into the details of Eight Limbs of Yoga.

Looking for Professional Help?

Check out courses on Life Coaching and Yoga Coaching.

Yoga & Yogic Nutrition


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: